top of page

8. Cannabis

Updated: Aug 3

In many parts of the world this is still an illegal substance but here in Canada, it has been legalized!

I remember a few years ago when my friend told me that it would help with pain and anxiety, and people say it can help with cancer or help stop tumor growth.


I remember not wanting to try it at first but I was tired of killing my liver with all of the pain medication I was taking.


I'm not an expert but this is what I've learned so far:

The 2 main cannabinoids of cannabis are THC and CBD. Our bodies have endo-cannabinoid receptors in our cells!

THC is the part that makes one high but it also has amazing healing properties that, despite what claims have been made about CBD, are very important to symptom relief and possibly the biggest contributing factor to stopping tumor growth. CBD is the opposite of THC in that it will actually counteract the high that THC produces. This is important to know because a ratio of 1:1 of THC to CBD is such a pleasant way to consume it and it makes one super calm and does all the good things without any weird high feeling.


One could use CBD oil for daytime use to combat pain and anxiety but would not experience the same benefits from hemp seed oil, so buyer beware: CBD oil should come from the flowering part of the cannabis plant, not from the hemp seed!


The other thing I learned is that there are basically 2 types of cannabis plants: indica and sativa. One can use exclusively indica, or a hybrid with mostly indica in the evenings to relax. One can try the 1:1 indica flower while in an Epsom salt bath. It's seriously amazingly relaxing!


The sativa is something you'd use in the daytime to invigorate you. Some people say it gives them energy. I have found that it seems to give me a panicky feeling (and I am very sensitive to things that cause anything resembling anxiety) so I personally would not use sativa. But I know many people who love it and it makes them so uplifted!


Big pharma has also started to try to make synthetic versions of cannabis but I've heard terrible things from people that have used these drugs. The problem is that a synthetic version cannot create the entourage effect that only the natural plant can. There are many terpenes and cannabinoid combinations that give the plant different healing properties! It's worth reading about!

A good regimen would be to use CBD only oil during the daytime. Most providers have started to offer a CBD capsule that is so convenient to add to daily supplements. Cannabis oil has a strong taste but the capsule dose is very precise. This will hopefully take the edge off of pain and anxiety. Then in the evenings before bed, one could vape the 1:1 indica hybrid flower. I strongly advise against vaping any oils as this has recently proven to be harmful to the lungs. There is no reason to vape oils when the plant itself should be vaped instead.


The people that are very serious about using cannabis to treat cancer actually use something called "FECO" oil which is full extract cannabis oil. There are a few social media groups and online guides on how to do this. The basic rule is start low and go slow. Something the size of a half of a grain of rice is often enough to start with. It is advised to wait a few hours before trying anything more than that as orally ingested often takes longer to feel anything and the effects also last longer than inhaling.


Combining the cannabis with something called low dose naltrexone (LDN) www.ldnscience.org has given many the best sleeps of their life. I've never been able to sleep well and LDN has been life changing for me. I will be writing about Low Dose Naltrexone soon but please look into this amazing drug for yourself.


Cannabis has been proven to help with GI issues also as well as a bunch of different ailments. It lowers inflammation and can help alongside cancer treatment with nausea and appetite enhancement.


I believe in the healing properties of cannabis and hope that the world will see that it does not belong in the same category as hard street drugs. I believe that we were given this plant to heal our bodies and we should be fully using it as doctors once did before the war on drugs.

Comments


bottom of page