top of page

28. Collard Green Wraps- recipe!

I've been wanting to make these for so long and was super excited to see beautiful collard greens at the store today!


I looked and looked for techniques and recipes but didn't find exactly what I was looking for so I made this recipe all myself!


The first thing to do is wash the greens (and veggies) being careful not to break them ;).


I then cut out the spines completely but if I were to do it again, I would try a different method that shaved the bumpy side of the spine down flush with the leaf - because if done carefully, will keep the integrity of the leaf and allow for all the surface area for rolling. The way I did it, I had to slightly overlap the leaves in the middle and found I didn't have as much leaf on the sides to tuck in as I rolled - I just had to make them a bit smaller ;)


I cooked up some ground Turkey in my skillet with some olive oil while preparing the veggies by slicing them very thinly - the thinner the better- I wish I had made the peppers thinner here..


I used cucumber, peppers, purple cabbage, carrots and leeks (or green onions)


I seasoned the Turkey with salt and pepper (remember not to use table salt!)


The sauce is what makes this sing and its completely vegan and paleo because I used cashew butter (peanuts and soy are legumes), coconut aminos instead of soy sauce, and a bit of maple syrup.

I also used a splash of rice wine vinegar (which is not paleo but you could use lime juice or ACV here instead) and a splash of sesame seed oil, but not necessary. I also added a bit of sriracha for some heat!🔥

Now, I didn't measure these out but it's based on taste preferences. I would guesstimate equal parts cashew butter and coconut aminos- start with about 3 TBSP each. And maybe 1 TBSP maple syrup, S.S. oil and vinegar each. And as much heat as you want.

Mix this well and thin it out with a tiny bit of hot water if needed.


When assembling these, I recommend lightly steaming the leaves until they just wilt and overlap each side slightly. The trick is to spread a thin layer of cashew butter on the thickest part where you pile the toppings and roll away from you while tucking the ends in as you go. I did end up using toothpicks to secure the ends because my leaves were slightly smaller than the filling!


They look prettiest when cut in half but they can be a bit harder to eat this way- less to hold on to!


The only other thing is that its easier to spoon the sauce onto the wrap before you bite it than it is to actually dip it.


I wont lie: these look amazing, taste great, are surprisingly filling and packed full of amazing nutrients- but they are a bit time consuming and messy to eat. All worth it in my opinion - something I would make on one of my good days!


So there you go, I really hope you like this recipe as much as we do!

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page