top of page

31. Hubby's test results and a stew recipe!

We have a frost warning and its raining again, so I'm freezing!

I wanted to make something fast for supper to warm us up!


I made this stew and it was on the table in 35 min!!

This is the fastest stew I've ever made Haha. Thank goodness for the instant pot!! I'm going to share recipes here because I want people to see how simple eating this way truly is!


We recently found out that hubby has a sensitivity to chicken (among other things) and I'm sensitive to beef so until we get more wild game, I'm using pork and turkey more lately instead of cooking separate meats for us at every meal!!


It's been an adjustment, but in our house we're completely free of gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, mustard, pineapple, beans (except chickpeas) and a few others...and all of us feel better than ever! I believe this has also played a huge role in keeping my PNETS from growing and keeping my cold urticaria under control.


I cannot believe the difference it's made for my husband already!

The rash on his upper arms is gone - exactly how I predicted, because I also had the "gluten rash" as I know many others do too! His energy is WAY up there and overall his mood is better too!!


It's not hard to make small changes to get the most out of your health. For years hubby supported me eating this way but was never convinced that he should do it until he had the food sensitivities test done himself. When you see the results in black and white, how YOUR blood reacts to certain foods, it's hard to deny it.


The most surprising thing for us was that he actually had MORE food sensitivities than I did!! Like WAY more!! He never had any gut pains or anything instant to indicate that those foods were a problem but over time, they started to diminish his energy and health overall.

He ate gluten and dairy far longer than I ever did, so he has more damage to repair.

Even his environmental allergies were getting more severe because of the systematic inflammation these foods were causing day after day, meal after meal.




So, after studying food and how it interacts with the body over the last few years, I've read over and over again that NO HUMAN CAN DIGEST GLUTEN OR DAIRY properly. I know 10 people that've had a food sensitivities test done now and it's been life changing for most of them too!!


So if you're not feeling your best, have aches and pains, skin issues or environmental allergies, dump the bad foods and you'll be amazed!!


One caveat, I ALWAYS hear - "oh I hardly have any dairy" or "I don't really eat much bread". Let me stop you right there...I said EXACTLY this once too, until I learned just how much dairy and gluten are in SO MANY foods you eat all the time! The thing about this type of thing is that the food must be eliminated 100% for the first while just in order to stop the damage that has already occurred, and avoided longer in order to heal the damage! If you eat even a tiny minuscule amount of the offending food, you can set your progress back 6 months! So it's better to completely avoid, completely heal, and then think about reintroducing those foods!


Here's the recipe as promised for Fastest Instant pot stew:


-1 pkg stewing cubes (I used pork)

-olive oil

-5 large potatoes

-3 cups vegetable or other stock

-Bag of frozen veggies (I used peas and carrots)

-1/4 cup tomato paste

-Herbs and spices

-2 Bay leaves

-Himalayan pink or Celtic sea Salt

-pepper


Slurry:

3 tbsp tapioca starch

3 tbsp water


I used pork cubes in this recipe and even with the fast cooking time, the pork is very tender. If you were to use beef I think you'd have to add 15 min...


Using sautee function, brown cubed, salted/seasoned meat for a few minutes in olive oil while cutting potatoes into roughly the same sized cubes as the meat.


Add 3 cups of stock (I used vegetable stock but chicken or beef would be good too) and stir.

Add your favorite herbs and spices and a bay leaf or 2 and close the instant pot using the stew function for 25 minutes.


For pork, I did a quick release, but for beef you may need to wait and do the natural release or it will be tough.


Take out the bay leaves and give it a good stir while adding a 1/4 cup of tomato paste.


Make a slurry of 3 tbsp of tapioca starch in 3 tbsp of water. Use the sautee function and stir this in well to get it to thicken.


Once its thick, add more salt and pepper.

Note: As long as you aren't using processed table salt (this is what's bad to use!!) and have substituted it for the good stuff: Himalayan pink or Celtic sea salt, add salt until it tastes good to you!


Once it tastes how you like it, add a half a bag of your favorite frozen veggies. I try not to eat corn, so I added peas and carrots.


Stir and serve. The veggies will be thawed by the time you eat!

Comentarios


bottom of page