top of page

7. What's the deal with gluten?

Before being diagnosed with #celiac disease, I didn't even know what gluten was. That was 17 years ago and when I found out that I could no longer eat it I found it very overwhelming. If course I even questioned why I would completely eliminate a whole food group at all. That was until I did a bit of research and realized that I could develop multiple health problems and possibly cancer. I used to buy gf "bread" at the health food store and if you toasted it, it'd taste less like styrofoam! lol. That year when I got rid of gluten, I dropped a significant amount of weight quite easily. I also noticed that I had more energy, wasnt tired 24/7, got way less cold or flus, and my skin looked amazing!

Fast forward a decade and we see gluten-free items everywhere! It was so easy to be gluten free because people were being made aware of what celiac disease was. But then there was this other movement that seemed to make gluten-free some kind of fad diet and people were demanding gf products for weight loss- and industry responded! Look how many companies jumped on that! I thought it was so weird how anyone thought that gf products could help you lose weight especially because they were very high in carbohydrates due to rice and corn substitutes being very high glycemic. Companies would even label items that were naturally free of gluten as #gluten-free! Then came the mockers, and perhaps rightly so because there were people like me who had to remove gluten for medical reasons and then there were people that weren't celiac that were asking for gluten free food - and who knew why they'd do that? Seeking attention? Or was there actually something else going on?

Well, turns out there's something called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Yes this is a real thing and basically the majority of the population cannot digest the gluten proteins. The way the grains have been genetically modified and grown with roundup in soil that is depleted of nutrients has made them impossible to break down. That's right, the human body cannot break down gluten! I love how Dr. Tom O'Bryan explains it in this interview: https://myersdetox.com/transcript-31-is-gluten-the-cause-of-your-health-problems-with-dr-tom-obryan/

He goes on to explain how something seemingly so innocent can go on to cause #CHRONIC health problems!

I count myself as one of the lucky ones that was told long ago to stay far away from it, but there are many people who are suffering with anything from: #IBS, #autoimmune diseases, #fatigue, #eczema, #acne, #allergies to #anxiety, #depression and even #cancer that would benefit from getting rid of it!! It weakens your immune system. In fact, ingesting a very small amount can trigger your immune system for literally months! That's why if you've heard,as I have many times, of someone quitting gluten or saying: "I don't eat very much bread" or "very often"- those are the people that have not gone 100% gluten free for months and have not seen a difference in their symptoms!

There are way too many studies and things to support this that a quick internet search should provide many reasons to get rid of it. If you still eat gluten, I highly suggest you research it further and perhaps you will change your mind and your life!

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page