top of page

13. A sweet chocolate treat that's actually healthy!

Since cutting sugar and sweeteners from my diet I do not crave sweet things very often, but yesterday was Valentine's day!! So watching everyone post pictures of chocolate was a bit much. It's chocolate... and I'm human....

So...

Here's my little secret for when I'm craving the creamy chocolatey things:


Over the last couple years I've crowded out, or upgraded low quality foods for better, healthier versions.


I no longer purchase cocoa powder but pure cacao powder:

The difference is that cocoa is the common ingredient in most chocolates but has been heated to the point where there is no health benefits. Cocao, on the other hand, is full of antioxidants and other nutrients like MAGNESIUM!

(You can read an excellent article about it here: https://blog.paleohacks.com/cacao-vs-cocoa/)


I no longer purchase big boxes of dry teas in bags:

I prefer looseleaf teas, but my favorite, and the star of this recipe is a loose powdered green tea called Matcha. My favorite is peppermint matcha for this!! You won't regret having this high quality tea on hand for a quick pick me up!

Matcha is an antioxidant powerhouse, cancer fighter and all around health booster. (Read about it here:


I no longer buy table salt because of how detrimental it is to our health:

Instead, I buy either Himalayan pink salt or Celtic sea salt. This is another huge topic that I will be writing about in the future because salt is another thing that has been wildly misunderstood!


I no longer buy pasteurized honey because, again, heat kills all of the good things so I opt for the raw, unpasteurized honey (and manuka honey whenever I can) with it's amazing antibacterial properties and antioxidants again- check out the unique benefits of this here:


And of course you should know about the many health dangers of dairy by now so I love my coconut cream replacements for everything from my morning coffee to creamy savory soups!


So here's the recipe for my delicious creamy, minty chocolate antioxidant drink:




In a big cup of hot water, blend in:


1 tsp peppermint matcha

3 tsp cocoa powder (not cocoa)

1 tbsp raw, unpasteurized honey

Pinch of celtic sea salt

1/4 cup coconut cream


Blend and enjoy!

14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page